Pattern of the week Baby Brachiosaur Crochet

Hello all!

So this week i have jumped into the world of dinos to create this little lady.

20150410_204124

Personally I think she is adorable. The pattern comes from a wonderfully lady whom is also on etsy.com as janageek and can be found here >>> http://www.craftsy.com/pattern/crocheting/toy/baby-brachiosaurus-crochet-toy/50986?fresh=true&NAVIGATION_PAGE_CONTEXT_ATTR=PATTERN

The pattern is in US terminology but is very straightforward to follow, easy and makes up really quick. The main stitches used are chain, magic circle and US single crochet (UK double) so for a beginner this is perfect. There are however two ways to sew this little darling together. The first is to make all parts, pin in place and then stitch. The second (my chosen method) is to sew together as you go. It just seemed quicker and easier to visualise when stuffing and sewing.

The tail was tricky starting with stitches that are small and very fiddly but persevere it will be ok I doubted the look of my tail until I’d stuffed and positioned it but was happy in the end.

I’ve made my dino up in acrylic wool with a 3.5mm hook. The key here is to remember most patterns work with most yarn types but you must adjust your hook size to achieve the correct tension.. I can’t begin to count how many amigurumis I’ve made where I haven’t changed my hook to adjust for tension and at finished product my work is so loose you can see stuffing sticking out!

She stands at around 15cm tall, and I have used safety eyes but bear in mind if making for a small child or even a pet (this would be great stuffed with catnip) to embroider eyes on so the small parts can’t get chewed or choked on.

Hoping you enjoy pattern of the week.

20150410_204325

Leave a comment